TOUR NEWS: The Handsome Family tour in February and March 2017

Tour includes Leeds and Manchester


Cult husband and wife duo The Handsome Family will follow the release of their much studio album release Unseen, with a tour of the UK and Europe, in February and March 2017.

The band have released a video for their recent single ‘Back In my Day’, the second single from ‘Unseen’. The video is a fantastically surrealist visual to accompany the tracks’ celebration of years past, which sees the band harking back to a time where we could “drink from the river”, had “mile-high glaciers”, when “the birds were always watching” and “There were monsters in the sea”.

“‘Back in My Day’ grew out of my frustration at the new street lights put up around our house in Albuquerque, New Mexico. It no longer gets dark here. We get a half-twilight orange dusk for a few hours and then the sun comes up again. I miss the dark night. I miss the stars and the calm that comes from looking out into black space. In this darkness-deprived state I can’t be held responsible for whatever false memories pop into my head, but I truly do remember playing music on rings of ice. I remember trying to fold a map. I remember feeling the entire forest watching me as I wandered off into the pines. Brett says all the instruments used to record this song were actually made from ice. He still wears a wristwatch. It may not be removable. He has seen monsters in the sea.” — Rennie Sparks, The Handsome Family

Tour dates

18 Feb – CARDIFF, The Globe
19 Feb – LEAMINGTON SPA, Assembly
21 Feb – NORWICH, Arts Centre
22 Feb – MANCHESTER, RNCM Concert Hall
23 Feb – GLASGOW, St Luke’s
24 Feb – EDINBURGH, The Caves
25 Feb – GATESHEAD, Sage 2
27 Feb – LEEDS, Brudenell Social Club
28 Feb – BRISTOL, St George’s
2 Mar – LONDON, Union Chapel
3 Mar – BRIGHTON, Concorde 2
4 Mar – FOLKESTONE, Quarterhouse

Tickets are now on sale via

Previous articleTOUR NEWS: Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow tour in June 2017
Next articleTOUR & ALBUM NEWS: Rag’n’Bone Man tours in April 2017 & debut album out 10th February