ALBUM, SINGLE & TOUR NEWS: Van Houten announce debut album with new single ‘Never Did Come Back’

New album 'The Tallest Room' set for March release with UK headline tour


Van Houten have shared new single ‘Never Did Come Back’ and announced their debut album ‘The Tallest Room’ due March 22nd 2024 via Clue Records/EMI North.

Founded on seven years of friendship through times thick and thin and a shared obsession with exploring the fuzziest, far-out corners of 90’s guitar music, Leeds-based sextet Van Houten are ready to show us what they’ve been busy cooking up.

Vocalist & guitarist Louis Sadler pens “Never Did Come Back is probably my favourite song we’ve written to date. Lyrically I feel like it says a lot without saying much at all and the simplicity of the instrumental feels really powerful. It’s definitely the song from our new record that we feel identifies us best as a band. It comes from a dark place, talking about the seemingly inescapable sinking that I’ve felt while battling mental health issues. I’d say that If you only listen to one Van Houten song then make it this one…“

Seven years in the making, ‘The Tallest Room’ is worth the wait. Having enlisted the ears and ideas of producer Alex Greaves (bdrmm, Working Men’s Club, Bloc Party), the album is a captivating melting pot of eclectic influences, conflicting emotions and earworm hooks that celebrates the journey the band have been on and looks forward to the future with optimism, whatever it may hold.

Within this full length lies an honesty & vulnerability that all can find solace in as Sadler discloses “our debut feels like the first real milestone in our musical journey. For us, this record represents a new beginning as a band and also me personally. Over the past couple of years while we’ve been writing I’ve gone through some massive changes that have really sculpted my outlook and it’s naturally bled into our music… It’s about gaining perspective, moving forwards and while it acknowledges darker experiences & feelings, it’s ultimately about moving on.“

Van Houten will be at last releasing their debut album on March 22nd 2024 via Clue Records/EMI North and is available to preorder now.

Released on baby pink vinyl, the album is also available as a special ‘Dinked’ baby blue edition release which will include exclusive new versions of ‘Only Wanna Be With You’ & ‘Panoramic View’ and a VH balloon, limited to 400 copies.

Van Houten will be heading on a headline tour in March and April 2024.

Live Dates:

26 JAN | The Windmill, London
29 MAR | Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
02 APR | The Hope & Ruin, Brighton
04 APR | Hare & Hounds | Birmingham
05 APR | The Bodega, Nottingham
06 APR | YES, Manchester
12 APR | Play Brew Co, Middlesbrough
13 APR | King Tuts, Glasgow
03 MAY | The Boileroom, Guildford w/ The Orielles
04 MAY | Wanderlust Festival, Southampton
05 MAY | Portland Arms, Cambridge

Previous articleGIG NEWS: The Victoria Theatre Halifax’s Antidote programme returns for 2024 with Soft Noise Ensemble and Sam and the Plants
Next articleFESTIVAL NEWS: Tramlines festival reveals huge 2024 line up
Frank is the website guy for Local Sound Focus. Takes a lot of photos and loves writing about new music.