TOUR & EP NEWS: Young States announce October 2017 dates, release ‘Past Truths | Present Lies’


Young States are pleased to announce a number of mini tour dates after sharing their new single ‘Over It By Now’ recently on Upset. Taken from the forthcoming EP, ‘Past Truths | Present Lies’ – out 29th September.

Tour dates as follows:

Saturday 7th October: Manchester Aatma
Sunday 8th October: Bournemouth The Anvil
Monday 9th October: London Surya
Friday 13th October: Birmingham Cogs Bar

Hailing from Norwich, Young States are a four-piece band specialising in energetic and passionate punk rock.

Formed at the end of 2014, the band met at a music school in Norwich. Guitar and vocalist, Libby was on a sound engineering course, the others on music performance courses. Guitarist, Amy got Young States together as she was bored of seeing male band after male band, and wanted to form an all-female group. She approached the others in the corridors of college after seeing them carrying their instruments.

With a love of Brand New, Kids In Glass Houses, Defeater and Mallory Knox, Young States quickly wrote and recorded their debut EP ‘Down to You’ which saw them receive play from Scuzz TV, BBC Introducing and features in the pages of Kerrang!

New EP “Past Truths | Present Lies” is about personal growth and letting go of the things that have previously caused you pain.

Lead singer and bass player Georgia says: “All the tracks on the EP have different meanings to some extent but the common thread between them all is that they’re all about my own (not-entirely-happy) feelings I’ve experienced in the past. The idea for the EP name comes from saying that I experience these exact feelings at the moment wouldn’t be true.”

‘Past Truths | Present Lies’ was produced by Drew Lawson (Roam/Summerlin/Me Vs Hero) and mastered by Grant Berry (All Time Low/Roam/Boston Manor) who gave the EP it’s Midas touch. After finally perfecting their sound, Young States are ready to go places they’ve never been to before. Anthemic, dark and melodic in equal measure, this is their strongest statement yet.

Young States are:

Georgia Leeder – Vocals/Bass
Libby Irons – Guitar/Vocals
Amy Jeffery – Guitar
Molly Draba-Mann – Drums

Previous articleSINGLE NEWS: Fizzy Blood unveil ‘ADHD’ ahead of Reading & Leeds Festivals
Next articleALBUM NEWS: Steve Miller Band ‘Ultimate Hits’ to be released 15th September 2017