SINGLE, ALBUM & TOUR NEWS: Paul Smith shares ‘Around And Around’, ‘Diagrams’ out 26th October, November 2018 dates


In the wake of recent track ‘Silver Rabbit’ – a story of self-doubt and regret channelled through overdriven guitars – comes brand new single ‘Around and Around’.

Talking about the new single, Smith comments, “I wanted to create a seemingly breezy pop song that contains buried feelings of discomfort and unease. I began by using certain autobiographical details, but then I tried to make it more of a cryptic short story with Brexit Britain as the backdrop.”

At the end of October, live dates kick off with an intimate hometown album launch show in Stockton. A month later, the album will be brought to life with full band performances, with support coming from One Little Indian’s former Mercury Prize nominee Kathryn Williams.


Sun 28 Oct The Waiting Room Stockton (solo) – SOLD OUT
Thu 22 Nov Hug and Pint Glasgow
Fri 23 Nov Picture House Social Sheffield
Sat 24 Nov The Cluny Newcastle
Mon 26 Nov The Deaf Institute Manchester
Tue 27 Nov Mama Roux’s Birmingham
Wed 28 Nov Moth Club London

Pre-order the album here:

On new album Diagrams, alongside co-producer Andrew Hodson – of 6 Music favourites, Warm Digits – Paul Smith charts a course into the yearning, melancholic jangle-pop of The Go-Betweens, finding himself drawn to the literate, grunge-pop of The Lemonheads, to build a cohesive collection that pulls in his many songwriting strengths.

Album tracks

1. The Public Eye
2. Around and Around
3. Silver Rabbit
4. Lake Burley Griffin
5. Syrian Plains
6. John
7. The Beauty Contest
8. Hollywood Hills
9. Head for Figures
10. Critical Mass
11. Your Orbit

Previous articleTOUR NEWS: The Americans are returning to Europe to support St Paul And The Broken Bones on tour November 2018
Next articleALBUM & TOUR NEWS: Echo Town new album ‘Kin’, dates October 2018