TOUR & ALBUM NEWS: Daddy Long Legs announce UK + Ireland tour dates through April / May, new album ‘Lowdown Ways’ released May 10 on Yep Roc Records


Brooklyn, NY-based trio DADDY LONG LEGS – Brian Hurd (vocals, harmonica, guitar), Murat Akturk (slide guitar), Josh Styles (drums, maraca) – will make their Yep Roc Records debut May 10 with Lowdown Ways, their third studio album. Now they are announcing a string of UK tour dates through April and May. See the full tour below.

Thu 18 April​ – Prince Albert, Brighton
Fri 19 April – Le Beat Bepsoke Festival @ 229, London
Thu 9 May – Audio, Glasgow
Fri 10 May – Black Box, Belfast
Sat 11 May – The Sugar Club, Dublin
Sun 12 May – Night & Day, Manchester
Tue 14 May – The Cluny, Newcastle
Wed 15 May – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
Fri 17 May – NAC, Norwich
Sat 18 May – Esquires, Bedford
Sun 19 May – The Railway Hotel​, Southend

Produced by Jimmy Sutton and engineered by Alex Hall (JD McPherson, Pokey LaFarge, Jake La Botz) at Hi-Style Studios in Chicago, the album features 12 original compositions with songwriting contributions from JD McPherson and Sutton. A new direction from their first two studio albums (released by Norton Records), Lowdown Ways sees the boys widen their sonic horizons with field hollers, gospel, Cajun, and Mississippi Hill Music, coupled with their renowned supercharged, harp-driven R&B bangers.

When asked by Village Voice “What is DADDY LONG LEGS?,” Hurd answered, “Rock and roll salvation through the spirit of roots and blues.” While influenced by the likes of Son House, Captain Beefheart, Howlin’ Wolf, MC5, and Dr. Feelgood, their sound personifies garage rock and punk with a contemporary raw twist performed in their own brand of supercharged R&B.

Since forming in 2010, the band has released two studio albums, a live album and two 45s on Norton Records. Their last album was 2015’s DADDY LONG LEGS Rides Tonight. The band has toured with Jon Spencer, Hurray For The Riff Raff, The Sonics, Nikki Lane, Nick Waterhouse, amongst others.

Lowdown Ways is now available for pre-order. The vinyl LP arrives on limited edition opaque white vinyl.


1. Theme from DADDY LONG LEGS
2. Pink Lemonade
3. Ding Dong Dang
4. Mornin’ Noon & Nite
5. Glad Rag Ball
6. Bad Neighborhood
7. Célaphine
8. Winners Circle
9. Back Door Fool
10. Snagglepuss
11. Be Gone
12. Wrong Side of the River

Previous articleALBUM & TOUR NEWS: Palace’s ‘Life After out 12th July, dates November 2019
Next articleSINGLE REVIEW: Concrete Armbands – ‘… Like Russian Dolls’