TOUR & ALBUM NEWS: Jon Spencer dates October/November 2018, solo album out November 2018


Ahead of the release of his debut solo album and forthcoming EU headline dates and tour with The Melvins, Jon Spencer returns with a video for new single ‘I Got The Hits’ that delves into the darkest corners of America. The film finds Spencer immobilized and horizontal, helpless to move as life and sinister creatures pass him by, all set to a high-energy rock n’ roll beat.

“Over the past year I kept seeing wonderful and strange music videos that had one thing in common: all were directed by an Alex Italics,” explains Spencer. “I determined to track down this young auteur with the aim of getting a similar cinematic sensation for my new album ‘Spencer Sings The Hits!’. Alex turned out to be a mild-mannered young man from Tucson Arizona living in Southern California. I gave him a free hand to pick the song and devise a treatment. The result is the scary slice-of-life that you can now see for yourself.”

“I love the creepy contrast with the song’s punk abandon,” continues Jon. “We filmed at a rented house in Santa Ana. At the end of each day, after the nearby nightly Disneyland fireworks had faded and the cast and crew had left, I would sleep in a bunk bed in the child’s bedroom. Turns out doing an entire video laying on the floor is harder than it looks!”

‘Spencer Sings The Hits!’, released November 2nd on In The Red Records, is Garage Punk for Now People! A wizard’s brew of rhythm & blues and subversive dance grooves, weaponized with sci-fi skronk and industrial attitude, calibrated for the Revolution, a ball-peen hammer of sound guaranteed to destroy any post-modern hangover!

Pulsing with energy, clanging with excitement, and dripping with radioactive soul and raw emotion, Jon Spencer opens up his heart like never before, exploring man’s modern condition with caustic guitars and outerworld crooning, asking and answering the musical question, “Is it possible to torch the cut-throat world of fake news and pre-fab, plastic-coated teen ennui with the cold hard facts of rock’n’roll?”

‘Spencer Sings The Hits!’ is released November 2nd on In The Red Records and is available to pre-order from:

01 “Do The Trash Can”
02 “Fake”
03 “Overload”
04 “Time 2 Be Bad”
05 “Ghost”
06 “Beetle Boots”
07 “Hornet
08 “Wilderness”
09 “Love Handle”
10 “I Got the Hits”
11 “Alien Humidity”
12 “Cape”

Catch Jon Spencer live at the following dates with The Melvins (* headline shows)


23 Birmingham 02 Academy 2
24 Norwich Waterfront
25 Cardiff Y Plas
26 Leeds Stylus
28 Manchester Academy 2
29 Brighton Concorde 2
30 London Koko (TICKETS)

November – Jon Spencer headline dates:

1 Bristol Exchange
2 London Rough Trade East
3 Newcastle Cluny 2
4 Nottingham Bodega

Previous articleEP & TOUR NEWS: Huw Eddy & The Carnival Return with ‘Malflourished’, Dates October-December 2018
Next articleALBUM & TOUR NEWS: William The Conqueror ‘Bleeding On The Soundtrack’ out now, November 2018 dates