STREAMING NEWS: Watch Andrea Bocelli ‘Music For Hope’ Livestream From Milan’s Duomo Cathedral on Easter Sunday

0
68

On Easter Sunday (April 12, 2020), Italian tenor and global music icon Andrea Bocelli will give a solo performance at the historic Duomo, the cathedral of Milan, Italy, representing a message of love, healing and hope to Italy and the world.

Andrea Bocelli was invited to give this performance by the Mayor of Milan and the Duomo cathedral during this dark time that has wounded all of Italy. He replied, “On the day in which we celebrate the trust in a life that triumphs, I’m honoured and happy to answer ‘Sì’”.

There will be no audience present, and strictly no access for the public (in compliance with government regulations on Covid-19), but the concert will be exclusively streamed live globally on Andrea Bocelli’s YouTube channel, from 6pm UK time.

The Duomo, a national and international landmark, currently closed to all, will open its doors exceptionally for Andrea Bocelli who will be accompanied only by the cathedral organist, Emanuele Vianelli, playing one of world’s largest pipe organs. On a day symbolic of the renewal of life the carefully selected uplifting sacred music repertoire, specially arranged for solo voice and organ for the occasion, will include the Ave Maria setting by Bach/Gounod and Mascagni’s Sancta Maria. Andrea Bocelli’s participation is entirely pro-bono.

Bocelli, with the Foundation that carries his name, the Andrea Bocelli Foundation (ABF), has started a fundraising campaign to support hospital departments during the COVID-19 emergency. It is possible to donate through the GoFundMe campaign or by contacting the Andrea Bocelli Foundation.

Stay at home and watch Andrea Bocelli’s ‘Music For Hope’ livestream from the Duomo Cathedral in Milan on Easter Sunday, 12 April 2020, from 6pm UK time, 10am PST, 1pm EST, on YouTube.