VIDEO NEWS: Sfven drops video for new single ‘Closure’


Leeds based electro pop artist Sfven has released the video for his new single ‘Closure’, which follows recent releases ‘Paranoid’ and ‘Hard To Say I Love You Sober’.

Sfven, otherwise known as 22-year-old Jamie Clarke, has a unique sound which blends electronic beats with infectious vocal hooks, sweet melodies and meaningful lyrics. As Jamie himself says, he creates “sad stories entwined in happy tunes”.

Beginning his musical journey after accidentally attending an inspiring music production class at university, he takes his name from a hard drive that his songs are stored on and is influenced by the likes of Louis the Child, Bon Iver, Flume and Whethan.

He introduced his sound at the start of summer with the singles Paranoid and Hard To Say I Love You Sober, which was recently played on Jack Saunder’s BBC Radio 1 show as a ‘Next Wave’. There is a theme to Jamie’s songwriting charting familiar everyday highs and lows in both his lyrics and sound and Closure continues that trend.

A song about friendship, regret and change, Closure is an honest and atmospheric track with a strong chorus backed by darkly melodic beats. The single is inspired by real-life events and the accompanying artwork, imagery and video have a symbolic meaning. Filmed earlier this year in Berlin and featuring Jamie himself, it visualizes the feeling of being isolated. He says;

“The video idea for Closure just tries to encapsulate the feeling of being lost in really big places. I sort of like trying to sum up that feeling of being completely lost in a situation no matter how big the scope. So, when the director Steve described Berlin to me, where Steve lives, I really wanted to go out and capture these isolated scenes of me in huge open spaces.”

Following a local hometown show, Sfven will be performing at This Must Be The Place festival at Headrow House in Leeds on 25th August.

Previous articleSINGLE REVIEW: Crush – ‘Glue’
Next articleGIG & SINGLE NEWS: Lockeland play York 4th September 2019, release ‘Drive’ 30th August